Posted by Jason Reeve on February 28, 2023 in RootsTech

It’s RootsTech week!

 

RootsTech 2023 begins this week, have you registered yet?

Registration is free and once you register you will have free access to a wide range of talks and news, as well as be able to visit the virtual exhibition and chat with Ancestry staff. The three day event starts this Friday 3rd March 2am AEDT (4am in NZ and 11pm Thursday night in Western Australia).

 

 

RootsTech is a popular annual family history and genealogy conference that is held in Salt Lake City, Utah, USA. Now in its 13th year, the conference focuses on helping individuals discover, preserve, and share their family history through the use of technology.

 

During the conference, attendees are welcomed to a wide variety of workshops, keynote addresses, and interactive exhibits, all of which are designed to help attendees learn about new tools and techniques for researching and sharing their family histories. The conference also includes a large expo hall, where attendees can explore the latest genealogy products and services, as well as meet with vendors and experts in the field.

 

There is a new RootsTech 2023 mobile app for those who prefer to use an app rather than a browser window. The app includes lots of filters, including live – and the link to watch each live stream is within each event details, so make sure you add them to your playlist. As of right now, the Android app appears to be missing, so I recommend that you do a search on the Google Store throughout the week.

Android | iPhone & iPad

 

If you’re looking for a few sessions to immediately lock in, here’s a couple of ideas suggested by local professional genealogist Michelle Patient aka ‘The Patient Genie’.

 

What’s new at Ancestry?

Crista Cowan (Ancestry Corporate Genealogist) will be announcing our latest news, at a time when most of us will be able to watch live.

Mark your calendar for;

9:00am AEDT

11:00am NZDT

8:30am ACDT

8:00am AEST

7:30am ACST

6:00am AWST

(Register Here)

 

Making New Discoveries with Ancestry Hints.

An hour later Making Discoveries with Ancestry Hints® starts. Ancestry Hints® are recommendations of records, photos, stories, and family trees that may contain information about people in your tree. Learn about how Ancestry Hints® are generated and how to evaluate them to capture the real story as you make new discoveries about your family.

10:00am AEDT

12:00pm NZDT

9:30am ACDT

9:00am AEST

8:30am ACST

7:00am AWST

(Register Here)

 

For those interested in upcoming technologies, there will also be an ‘Innovators Forum‘ hosted by Dr Nick Barratt.

 

There’s certainly no shortage of opportunities to listen & learn, so head along to the RootsTech 2023 website and register now to take advantage of the great line up of industry experts.

 

In 2023, Ancestry is proud to once again be a Platinum Sponsor of RootsTech.

 

Jason Reeve
Head of Content & Community

  
Jason Reeve

As the 'Head of Content & Community' for Ancestry.com in Australia and New Zealand, Jason is a passionate advocate for discovering, sharing, and preserving the history of land, people and families.

This blog is protected by Dave\'s Spam Karma 2: 582 Spams eaten and counting...